Secure and UnSecure Configuration in MS CRM

Difference between Secure / Unsecure Configuration of Plugin Registration tool in CRM 2011

As you all know the plugin registration tool in CRM 2011 contains Secure and Unsecure configuration sections as shown below.
Following are the two key differences found between these two configuration settings.
Unsecure Configuration
Secure Configuration
Unsecure configuration information could be read by any user in CRM. Remember its public information (Ex: Parameter strings to be used in plugin could be supplied here)
The Secure Configuration information could be read only by CRM Administrators.(Eg: Restricted data from normal user could be supplied here)
Imagine that you include a plugin, plugin steps and activate them in a solution. Later solution was exported as Managed Solution to another environment. In this scenario, the supplied unsecure configuration values would be available in the new environment.
The plugin with secure configuration in a solution was exported as Managed Solution to another environment. In this scenario, the supplied secure configuration information would NOT be available in the new environment. The simple  reason behind this is to provide more security to the contents of Secure Configuration

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s